Skip to content


Reply
Stone Esquire
richie83
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-26-2012
Accepted Solution

WFBS 7.0 - Chrome Issues

We have just (in the last few days) had WFBS installed by our IT provider. Everything is running pretty smoothly (although with a few hiccups regarding Activesync and iPhones), except for one issue.

 

Google Chrome seems to freeze every 20 seconds when viewing websites. It's acutally frozen 4-5 times whilst typing this out. I've completely exited the WFBS client and the freezing stops. The freezing doesn't occur in IE9. It isn't a crash, just Chrome doesn't recognise any input from keyboard and mouse, ie. when typing or scrolling.

 

Any ideas on this?

Please use plain text.
Trend Micro Employee
hugler
Posts: 343
Registered: ‎07-09-2010

Re: WFBS 7.0 - Chrome Issues

can you provided the build number of your WFBS 7?


I am a Trend Micro employee. My comments and advice come from my personal knowledge and experience. I’m happy to volunteer what I can to help others have a great Trend Micro experience.
Please use plain text.
Stone Esquire
richie83
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-26-2012

Re: WFBS 7.0 - Chrome Issues

The build version is 2435. 

Please use plain text.
Trend Micro Employee
hugler
Posts: 343
Registered: ‎07-09-2010

Re: WFBS 7.0 - Chrome Issues

kindly apply critical patch 2477 from the link below and observe if the issue will still occur.

http://www.trendmicro.com/ftp/products/wfbs/WFBS_70_SP1_WIN_EN_CriticalPatch_B2477.exe


I am a Trend Micro employee. My comments and advice come from my personal knowledge and experience. I’m happy to volunteer what I can to help others have a great Trend Micro experience.
Please use plain text.
Stone Esquire
richie83
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-26-2012

Re: WFBS 7.0 - Chrome Issues

Hello,

 

Patch 2477 applied, but the issue is still occuring.

Please use plain text.
Trend Micro Employee
hugler
Posts: 343
Registered: ‎07-09-2010

Re: WFBS 7.0 - Chrome Issues

Hi Richie83,

 

How many machines are affected? Since you are using WFBS 7, we need to further isolate is causing your issue with Chrome. Kindly use the disable module tool so we can check which module of the program is causing this issue.

 

http://esupport.trendmicro.com/solution/en-US/1059822.aspx


I am a Trend Micro employee. My comments and advice come from my personal knowledge and experience. I’m happy to volunteer what I can to help others have a great Trend Micro experience.
Please use plain text.
Stone Esquire
richie83
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-26-2012

Ok, have done that.   Disabling Proxy Hooking (which in t...

Ok, have done that.

 

Disabling Proxy Hooking (which in turn disables Web Threat Protection) gets rid of the issue. Disabling Web Threat Protection on it's own doesn't fix the issue.

Please use plain text.
Stone Noble
Ph1L
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎05-14-2012

Re: Ok, have done that. Disabling Proxy Hooking (which in t...

Please use plain text.
Trend Micro Employee
hugler
Posts: 343
Registered: ‎07-09-2010

Re: Ok, have done that. Disabling Proxy Hooking (which in t...

hi rich,

 

for the meantime try whitelisting "chrome.exe" for tmproxy using the steps from this link http://esupport.trendmicro.com/solution/en-us/1059313.aspx


I am a Trend Micro employee. My comments and advice come from my personal knowledge and experience. I’m happy to volunteer what I can to help others have a great Trend Micro experience.
Please use plain text.
Trend Micro Employee
hugler
Posts: 343
Registered: ‎07-09-2010

Re: Ok, have done that. Disabling Proxy Hooking (which in t...

here is another article that helps: http://esupport.trendmicro.com/solution/en-US/1056107.aspx


I am a Trend Micro employee. My comments and advice come from my personal knowledge and experience. I’m happy to volunteer what I can to help others have a great Trend Micro experience.
Please use plain text.