Stone Emissary
schmidtj
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎09-14-2010
Accepted Solution

Titanium IS How do I customize a scheduled scan of my computer

I want to schedule a weekly scan of only my C: drive. I don't see any option on how to confugure that actual backup (quick, full, custom) when I schedule it.

How is this done?

Thanks,

J

Please use plain text.
Stone Kendo
dmccann
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎08-22-2010

Re: Titanium IS How do I customize a scheduled scan of my computer

By default scheduled scans are full scans.  As the quick scan takes only a minute or two to run it makes no sense to schedule it.  For me, and I suspect the vast majority of users, the purpose of a scheduled scan is to give the whole system a thourough going over at a time when it will not not disrupt my use of the system. I can imagine no reason to exclude the C: drive from a scheduled scan, and since 90% of the elapsed time of a full scan is used scanning that drive it adds very little time to a scan to do do the full system.  I guess if one had a giant dedicated media drive attached they might wish to exclude it; but the black hats are always coming up with new stuff; so from my perspective a scheduled scan should exclude nothing (especially if the drive is Shared).  I like like the peace of mind that comes with knowing that everything connected to my pc is clean after a scheduled scan.  Also, since my scans are scheduled to occure in otherwise idle time why would I not want to know that my entire system is clean.

Please use plain text.
Stone Emissary
schmidtj
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎09-14-2010

Re: Titanium IS How do I customize a scheduled scan of my computer

I want to EXCLUDE some shared drives that are cloud based.

I am billed by bandwidth to those drives and don't want TM IS to read them in total each week.
So there is no way to have TM IS Titanium do a Custom Scan each week ?

Please use plain text.
Trend Micro Employee
Ondots
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎07-01-2010

Re: Titanium IS How do I customize a scheduled scan of my computer

Hi schmidtj,

 

Trend Micro's full scan don't include mapped network drives and I believe Virtual drives for your storage in the cloud is considered as a Network Drive so this is not scanned by Trend Micro. Usually items on your online storage is cached on your computer represented by a drive under My Computer.

 

Titanium, since you can't specify what drives are scanned during a Scheduled Scan, does it by sequence of 3 Quick Scans and 1 Full Scan 3:1 then resets the counter to 0 again.

 

Hope this has been informative to you.

 

Regards :smileyhappy:


I am a Trend Micro employee. My comments and advice come from my personal knowledge and experience. I’m happy to volunteer what I can to help others have a great Trend Micro experience.
Please use plain text.
Stone Esquire
irongate
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-21-2010

Re: Titanium IS How do I customize a scheduled scan of my computer

My scheduled scans are only taking a minute or so to complete. If I run a manual quick scan it also only takes about a minute.   When it's in progress it looks like it's not scanning contents of My Documents.  If I run a manual full scan it takes well over an hour.  

 

That makes me question the comment "By default scheduled scans are full scans."  Or am I missing something? I'm running Trend Micro Titanium IS version 3.0.1303.  (If it's relevant the used space on my Drive C is 67GB out of a total 453GB available)

 

 

Please use plain text.
Stone Kendo
dmccann
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎08-22-2010

Re: Titanium IS How do I customize a scheduled scan of my computer

irongate-  I am sorry for my original comment. You are correct.  The scheduled scan feature defaults to 3 quick scans followed by one full scan, then 3 quick, then 1 full, etc.  This would result in one full scan every 4 days if the feature is set to daily or 1 full scan every month if set to a specific day.  While this scheme seems reasonable to me,  I understand from another thread in this forum that Trends' engineers are working adding some more user control back into this feature.

Please use plain text.
Stone Esquire
irongate
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-21-2010

Re: Titanium IS How do I customize a scheduled scan of my computer

Thankyou dmccann.  Correct information of this type should be in the "Product Manual" but it's not.  The Manual currently omits a lot of content that the average non tech user such as I am would find very useful and save time wading through forums.  Many of Trend's competitors are a bit more helpful, thorough and professional in this way. 

Please use plain text.
Stone Emissary
fmarshall
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-11-2009

Re: Titanium IS How do I customize a scheduled scan of my computer

[ Edited ]

AMEN!  The control of scans, their type, the logging of scans by type, etc. etc. needs some serious work.  I eagerly await the improvements.  I SELL this thing with no commission. 

 

How can one find out the schedule / plan for getting this done?

Please use plain text.
Stone Esquire
annoyed
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-02-2011

Re: Titanium IS How do I customize a scheduled scan of my computer

Any updates on this? I'd really like to remove several drives and folders from the scheduled scan list, currently I use the exception list to omit what I would like but that makes for one big exception list.

 

It would be really nice to have control over scheduled scans as with previous versions where a different scan could be set for different times. i.e scan drives C & D Monday, E & F Tuesday, omit all removable drives etc, I'm sure this function was in previous version of Trend and having it again would be great.

Please use plain text.
Stone Esquire
psoftpm
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-24-2011

Re: Titanium IS How do I customize a scheduled scan of my computer

I have Titanium installed.  The scheduled scan does a "quick scan" by default.  There doesn't seem to be anywhere I can set the type of scan I want run when scheduled.  Reading the other postings it looks like the "full scan" is scheduled by default for them.  Can someone at Trend Micro respond to this.

 

Also, when I manually start a "full scan", it sometimes takes a couple of hours to run and other times it takes 8 to 10 hours to run.  Why is there such a variation in run times.   

Please use plain text.