Skip to content


Stone Esquire
atgray
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-02-2011
Accepted Solution

Scans stall and will not complete (quick or full)

Scanning stalls...full and quick scans stall...if...if there is a fix (hotfix doesn't work)-why not include it in an update?  How many customers have you lost or will lose simply because you will not fix it.  It does not scan properly-fix it-if you can not fix it, I would love a Refund-to buy another product that actually works.
Please use plain text.
Customer Service Manager
khanto
Posts: 258
Registered: ‎09-04-2009

Re: Scans stall and will not complete (quick or full)

Hi,

 

If in case you wish to refund the program that you purchased, kindly contact our support via phone, chat or email so that we can assist you.

 

Regarding the hotfix, once verified that it works for a number of cases, it will be incorporated on the next program build or next update.

 

 


Please use plain text.
Stone Esquire
atgray
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-02-2011

Re: Scans stall and will not complete (quick or full)

 
Please use plain text.
Trend Micro Employee
arteec
Posts: 1,293
Registered: ‎07-08-2010

Re: Scans stall and will not complete (quick or full)

Hi atgray, 

 

You can check on this thread. This might be related to your concern.

 

http://community.trendmicro.com/t5/Home-and-Home-Office-Forum/quot-Files-Scan-in-Progress-quot-Not-F...

 

Hope this helps!

 

Artee :smileyhappy:


I am a Trend Micro employee. My comments and advice come from my personal knowledge and experience. I’m happy to volunteer what I can to help others have a great Trend Micro experience.
Please use plain text.
Stone Talent
abombaci
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎03-25-2011

Re: Scans stall and will not complete (quick or full)

[ Edited ]

We shouldn't have to go through all these type of fixes and this and that. Other programs scan without no problems. Whey all these bugs that need to be fixed in this version? I go through the delete all temporary files, clean cookies and do disk cleanup and this still hangs and fails to finish. When I had Kaspersky it never hung a scan. There's no need for all these excuses. Anyone agree? I Yeye!

Please use plain text.
Trend Micro Employee
simonn
Posts: 435
Registered: ‎07-08-2010

Re: Scans stall and will not complete (quick or full)

Hi Abombaci,

 

I do apologize for what happened but let me continue to help you with in this case. May I know on what exact file does the Trend Micro program hangs? Or is it random? Do you have any other third party antivirus software?

 

Thanks,

Simon


I am a Trend Micro employee. My comments and advice come from my personal knowledge and experience. I’m happy to volunteer what I can to help others have a great Trend Micro experience.
Please use plain text.
Trend Micro Employee
Ben10k
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎03-09-2011

Re: Scans stall and will not complete (quick or full)

[ Edited ]

Hi All,

 

You can upgrade your Trend Micro program to the 2012 version.

 

Titanium Maximum Security: http://esupport.trendmicro.com/solution/en-us/1059036.aspx

 

Titanium Internet Security: http://esupport.trendmicro.com/solution/en-us/1058977.aspx

 

Titanium Antivirus+: http://esupport.trendmicro.com/solution/en-us/1059147.aspx

 

 

Peace and love!!!

 

 ***Note: This thread is locked due to inactivity, for similar concerns kindly post a new topic.

 


I am a Trend Micro employee. My comments and advice come from my personal knowledge and experience. I’m happy to volunteer what I can to help others have a great Trend Micro experience.
Please use plain text.